Social Media Addiction in the Czech Republic

Can you remember at what age you signed in to your first social media app? I was as young as eight when I first downloaded Instagram on my mom’s phone. As the new digital age progresses, children are becoming the target audience. This is an ongoing issue all across the globe and has recently sparked interest among Czech reporters.

A study shows “about 8 percent of Czechs aged 11 to 15 years old could be addicted to social media….” The effects of social media addiction are vast and often very negative these effects can include heightened social anxiety, depression, a sense of loneliness, and many more. So what defines a social media addiction? “Social media addiction is a behavioral addiction that is defined by being overly concerned about social media, driven by an uncontrollable urge to log on to or use social media, and devoting so much time and effort to social media that it impairs other important life areas.” When social media addictions are imposed on children it can be extremely detrimental to a healthy childhood. Young kids should get involved in sports, theater, or academic clubs, yet instead theirs a growing population of kids dreaming of becoming influencers. Parents and schools must warn young kids about the effects of online addictions. The Czech Republic noticed the growing problem of social media addiction and implemented a strategy to attack this issue. As social media continues to grow increasingly large the task of ensuring a state’s youth does not become too attached is daunting.

Photo by: Joey Zanotti on flicker.com

At my university in America, the University of Mississippi just blocked TikTok off the school wifi in hopes of lowering distraction. The Czech Republic has also created a few ways to help this growing issue, the first being the National Helpline. This was originally created to aid gambling addictions it has spread into other forms of technological addictions as well. Another resource is “the website opatruj.se run by the Czech National Institute of Mental Health.” I find it very interesting that the Czech Republic has so many resources for this issue, but the state can only do so much. 

Often times this particular addiction is extremely personalized, not every child is addicted to the same aspect of social media. One child might struggle with the inability to get off their social media. While another might constantly be thinking of being on their social media. These types of addiction can cause dependencies and can easily spill over into the child’s “real life”. “Teens who compulsively use social media often neglect things in their lives that used to be important to them, such as school, hobbies, sports, and friendships.” I personally have never struggled with an addiction to a particular social, however, I have experienced the effects of sitting on an app for too long. If I waste my day away watching TikToks or scrolling through Instagram, I will start to put myself down in ways I normally don’t. I immediately feel bad about myself, often telling myself I will never sit and scroll again. Although I do find myself going back to the apps within the same day.

Social media has become so normalized all over the world, that defining a social media addiction can be very tricky. I don’t believe I am addicted to my social media, but I also don’t know what I would do without them. “Data shows that the average screen time starts dropping around the age of 17-18…” As I have gotten older I have seen my dependency on social media decline, although the idea of not having it at all seems outlandish. I believe this is why social media companies target younger audiences, as we grow older these apps become a part of who we are. I am glad the Czech Republic has taken action to stop this growing issue among today’s youth. 

Leave a comment